30 day book challenge – day 27 – Book that has been on your “to read” list the longest

As a child, my family knew what a bookworm I was and so I was given a lot of books as gifts, especially from aunties and uncles.  One year, I was given two sets of children’s classics, containing books such as Treasure Island, Anne of Green Gables, Robinson Crusoe and many more.  I haven’t yet read any of them.  It is so shameful, but nothing pre-20th century was going to tear me away from The Babysitter’s Club at that age.

I have been meaning to get around to collecting these from my parent’s house and finally reading them, and so I suppose that those classics have technically been on my to read list the longest.

As for a book which is currently on my bookshelves, the one that has been sitting there the longest is A Fine Balance by Rohinton Mistry.  I picked this on up on the first ever World Book Night in 2011.  I got quite a bounty of books that night and I have read them all save for this one.

To be honest, I don’t even know what this book is about.  The blurb gives few clues and describes it as being about four people thrown together in 1970s India after the Government declares a state of internal emergency.  It sounds like it has potential – one of my current reading trends is reading books which are set in other countries and cultures, so I think I probably would quite enjoy this.  I’m not quite sure why I haven’t yet picked it up – I think it is partly because I don’t know anything at all about the story (though obviously I could easily find out), partly because I have so many other books on the to read list that this one just keeps getting inadvertently neglected, and partly because my initial impression of the book is that it will be quite a heavy and serious read.

I think I owe it to this book and to World Book Night to prioritise reading it, I just have to finish the book I’m reading now and then there are the library books ….

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Book Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

