30 day book challenge – day 26 – Book that makes you laugh out loud.

This is quite a hard question for me, as I don’t tend to read books that are funny.  Or rather, some books have some funny moments, but on the whole they are not intended to be written or read as comedy.

The exception to this is the two Bridget Jones’ books – they really make me laugh every single time I read them and they just don’t get old for me.  But I’ve already written about Bridget Jones in a previous post so I’m not going to repeat myself.

Then there is my beloved Harry Potter,  That has some moments of pure comedy.  I’m thinking Ron belching up the slugs, Ron getting attacked by the brains, Ron asking out Fleur and pretty much anything involving Professor Lockhart!  But I have also written about Harry Potter so many times that I’m decided to put a bit more thought into this and came up with…

A Spot of Bother by Mark Haddon

This is the story of a family coming apart at the seams in the wake of the eldest daughter Katie’s remarriage to Ray.  Her father, George, is looking forward to a comfortable, quiet retirement, her mother, Jean is having an affair and her brother Jamie seems to have the perfect life until he fails to invite his partner Tony to the wedding.  As for Katie, she has no idea if she actually wants to marry Ray or not.  And so, chaos ensues.

It’s actually been a while since I have read this book, so I don’t remember all of the fine details of the plot and the characters.  What I do remember is an overall impression of this book making me laugh.  George and Jamie in particular provided some great moments.

I was first introduced to Mark Haddon by a friend who recommended that I should read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time.  She described this to be as being really sad.  So I gave it a go, and I actually found her comment quite condescending (and I told her so!) as it is not a sad story at all – it deals with some difficult issues in a remarkably positive way and by the end I was left wondering how much time we actually waste in not saying what we mean and not meaning what we day.

A Spot of Bother is similar to this.  It is dealing with a family where every member is going through their own personal crisis whilst they are supposed to be trying to pull together for a wedding.  It covers some potentially heavy issues, such as adultery, being a single parent, sexuality etc.  However like The Curious Incident, it does not get bogged down in being too serious and provides so many comic moments that overall it is a very positive and light hearted read.

I have The Red House sat on my bookshelves waiting to be read and I hope that it will provide the same comedy and lightness as A Spot of Bother.  I am also adding A Spot of Bother to my re-read list to remind myself of all the laugh out loud moments that I have forgotten since I originally read it.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

