30 day book challenge – day 19 – A favourite author.

Oh, this is going to be a long one.  How can I choose just one author?  It would be like someone to choose between their children.  I have so many authors that I love, and I’m discovering new ones all the time.

Here are my favourites:-

Daphne Du Maurier

Regular readers of this blog will not be surprised to find Daphne Du Maurier’s name on this list.  You can read why she is one of my favourites here and here.

Audrey Niffenegger

The Time Traveller’s Wife is one of my all time favourite books, and although her follow up, Her Fearful Symmetry, did not capture me in the same way, it is still an excellent read.  Her ideas are really original and well executed, and her prose is wonderfully lyrical.  Her books to me are works of art.

Edith Wharton

She makes the list for her complex and empathetic characters, her brilliant portrayal of New York society and her emotional endings.  The House of Mirth and The Age of Innocence are two of my favourite classics.  I definitely plan to read more Edith Wharton.

Philippa Gregory

I have read all of the Tudor series and most of the Cousin’s War series.  I love her books for bringing these eras so vividly to life and for her focus on the female characters – history can so easily overlook the influence behind the scenes of powerful women and Philippa Gregory brings them back to the forefront.

Mark Haddon

For making me laugh.  I have read The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night Time and Spot of Bother.  I have The Red House on my bookshelves waiting to be read.  He deals with some serious issues with real humour.  He also created a very memorable character in the Curious Incident, and maintained a very authentic voice throughout.

Lionel Shriver

Every time I open a book by Lionel Shriver it blows me away.  Her writing is so powerful and so full of honesty in every word.  The Post Birthday World is one of my favourite books, and I will be talking about this more in a later post.  So Much For That is a very long book dealing with terminal illness.  It should be a slog and it should be depressing.  But in Lionel Shriver’s hands, the pages fly over and it manages to remain so uplifting and full of humour.  She is a really special writer.  We Need to Talk About Kevin is the most famous one, but her other work that I have read is every bit as good.

Chris Cleeve

Chris Cleeve has a thing going on where there is no blurb and no clues as to what the book is actually about.  This intrigued me with The Other Hand so I decided on a whim just to buy it and give it a go.  I loved every single word, and so now, I have bought into the myth.  I don’t need to know anything about the subject matter of the book or the characters – if it is by Chris Cleeve, I will read it because I know it will be good.

J K Rowling

Harry Potter is a series that I absolutely treasure.  We fell in love with Harry, went through some very dark times with him and she absolutely provided the ending that he deserved.  I’m now really looking forward to reading her adult fiction – a copy of The Casual Vacancy is the latest addition to my bookshelves.  Although crime fiction is not really my thing, I am also going to read Cuckoo Calling when it is in paperback.  There is no pressure and no expectation from me – I don’t think that J K Rowling has anything to prove after bringing us something as wonderful as Harry Potter.

Maggie O’Farrell

She is quite a new discovery for me and I’m really enjoying working my way through her books.  I love the intensity of her characters and the relationships between them.  She is one of those writers that pull you right into the story so you feel as if you are living and breathing with the characters through every moment  of their journey.  This means that her books are very memorable and I have loved everything that I have read by Maggie O’Farrell so far.

Sebastian Faulks

Again, he is quite new for me.  I started off reading A Week in December and I have since read Birdsong and Charlotte Gray.  His writing is absolutely flawless and incredibly frank at times.   It is his attention to detail that really makes him stand out for me – he obviously knows his characters absolutely inside out and this makes them well rounded and utterly believable, as he is able to drop in the little details that make people real.

The Brontes – all of them

It is so tragic that so little has been published by the Bronte sisters, though it just makes what has been published that much more special.  Emily and Charlotte’s work is the most well known, but I have a real soft spot for Anne and I think she is quite underrated.  The Tenant of Wildfell Hall is an excellent read and is right up there with Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre.  For any other Bronte lovers, I would thoroughly recommend a visit to the Bronte Museum in Haworth.  This is the parsonage in which the Brontes grew up and it is an incredible experience to walk in their footsteps and look out the window to see the view of the moors which inspired Wuthering Heights.

What about you?

I am always on the lookout for new authors to try whose work I haven’t read before, so who are your favourite authors?  Is there anyone not on my list that would be on yours?

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. At the very least I second you on Chris Cleeve and JK Rowling. I also love Jodi Picoult (I’ve read nearly all, but her most recent, the Storyteller, is really amazing) Toni Morrison, Isabelle Allende, Barbara Kingsolver…and John Grisham and Joanna Trollope are among my guilty pleasures:-)

Leave a Reply

