30 day book challenge – day 15 – A character who you can relate to the most.

Katniss Everdeen from the Hunger Games trilogy.

20130912_192855

It is probably stretching the truth to say I can relate to her – I’m not sure we actually have anything in common.  It I was in the Hunger Games, I’m pretty sure I would be killed straight away – I know very little about survival, I’m pretty unfit and in general, I’m a bit of a wimp.  My tactic would be to run away and hide for as long as possible.

But Katniss is the subject of this post because I just want to be her.

To start with, I have a real respect for anyone who understands nature and can live off the land.  I think it is a shame that we have mainly lost these traditional skills and knowledge.  The fact that Katniss knows how to hunt and survive off the land makes me like her.  The fact that she can use a bow and arrow makes me love her.

She is a survivor through and through.  She doesn’t let herself go to pieces no matter how much she might want to.  She uses her head.  She is smart.  She knows how to take care of herself, not just by surviving by hunting, but by learning how to adapt and play the system.

Katniss didn’t ask for any of what happens to her.  However, as the series progresses and Katniss comes to stand for something, she rises to the challenge and accepts the role that has been placed on her shoulders.  This is a heavy burden and she bears the scars but she doesn’t shy away.

But she is not all tough.  Katniss has real connections with the other characters in the book (even the ridiculous but well meaning Effie) and cares for them.  She fights for those she loves as much as anything else.

I absolutely loved The Hunger Games books.  I read them shortly after Twilight and it was just so lovely to read about such a strong female character following Bella Swan.  Katniss is everything that Bella is not.  She is exactly the kind of female character that I like to read about and a perfect role model for any young females (and me!) reading these books.

Posted on September 12, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

