30 day book challenge – Day 6 – Book you’ve read the most number of times.

Harry Potter.  All of them.

20130826_101905

I didn’t start reading the Harry Potter books until the second film came out.  I scoffed at anyone reading Harry Potter – obviously they were stupid over hyped children’s books.  It didn’t matter how many people told me that these were actually good books and that adults could read them too (I was 17 at the time), I wasn’t interested.

One day, I decided I was going to back up my arguments about what a waste of time Harry Potter was by actually reading it (there is some logic in there somewhere I think!).  So during a free period at school, I went to the Library and opened Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, whilst my friend (already a Potter fanatic) worked on a University application.  I was all geared up to sit there making snide comments, but then something unexpected happened…

I became hooked.

I couldn’t find anything I wanted to complain about, because I thought it was fantastic.  I was completely absorbed within the first few pages and I couldn’t put it down.  I never looked back from that point onwards – I threw myself wholeheartedly into Potter-mania.

I finished the first 4 books in January 2003 and the 5th book was due out that summer.  That kicked off my tradition of re-reading all of the books in the series before the new book came out.  I didn’t want to forget a thing, so I would read them all in a row.  Then I would read them again.  I read them every summer when I came home for holidays from University.  I would stay up late into the night reading because I couldn’t bear to put them down.

It has been a few years since I have read all of the books, but they are still some of my all time favourites and they are by far my most read books.

I learnt a valuable lesson from the Harry Potter experience as well – don’t pre-judge books!  I was definitely missing out as a result of the fact that I pre-judged what I expected from these children’s books.  I don’t do that now – I’m much more open to giving anything a go, no matter who the target audience.

Posted on September 3, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m glad it changed your mind! If only others who pre-judged the book would pick it up and read it like you.

    • blankpagesandbooks1

      I’m so glad it did too! I was the only one missing out by not reading it, and I totally agree that anyone who has not read Harry Potter because of their pre-conceived ideas about it should definitely give it a go.

  2. The professor never read them.

Leave a Reply

