30 day book challenge day 5 – Your “comfort” book.

This was an easy one for me.  I have two comfort books:-

Bridget Jones’ Diary

Bridget Jones’ The Edge of Reason

I love them because they are so funny.  Both of them have moments in that crack me up every single time, and no matter how many times I read them, they never get old.

Bridget is the definition of chaos – she doesn’t seem to be in control of any aspect of her life but she is absolutely endearing with it.  She is so ordinary and relatable – she makes and breaks resolutions, she obsesses with her weight, she puts her foot in her mouth.  Then she gets into scrapes (such as the mix up with the drugs in Thailand) that you hope could never happen in real life, but which are absolutely entertaining.

If I need a pick me up, Bridget Jones’ diaries will provide that every time and so they are the ultimate comfort books for me.

I’m really looking forward to the next instalment.  I read the newspapers columns on which the third book will be based several years ago.  I read them at my desk at work and had to struggle not to laugh out loud, so if that is anything to go by, I’m expecting the next one to be just as good as the previous two.

Posted on September 2, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

