Day 1 of the 30 day book challenge – book series

A book series you wish had gone on longer OR a book series you wish would just end already.

I am probably a bit of a bandwagon jumper when it comes to reading book series.  I didn’t start reading Harry Potter until a few months before the 5th book was published.  Twilight, The Hunger Games, His Dark Materials and Steig Laarson’s Millennium trilogy, were all complete series before I opened any of the books.  I missed out on a lot of the hype waiting for the new instalments to be published, but I also did get to enjoy the entire series all in one sitting back to back.

However, there is one series that I am currently reading, which I wish I think ticks both of the boxes: Game of Thrones (or a Song of Ice and Fire to use it’s proper name).

20130829_181323

I love the series.  It is ambitious and complex and epic.  I am in total admiration of George R R Martin’s level of detail of the story and the history of the story in particular.  He has created a fantasy world in which every noble house and region has its own culture, traditions, history, rivalries and motivations.  He keeps track of these brilliantly.  He keeps us readers on our toes with so many shocking moments that we would never have predicted.  There have been times where I have had to put the book down for a couple of days because I am so taken aback by what has happened that I need to build myself up to read on.

I had vaguely been aware of these books through the TV series and because a friend of mine read them.  I’m not a big fan of fantasy novels and so I didn’t really consider reading them myself until I read an article in a magazine on holiday one year.  The paragraph that caught my eye was saying that fans of the series were worried that George R R Martin would not live to complete it (he is 64).  A Game of Thrones, the first book in the series, was published in 1996.  17 years on and we are onto book 5 of 6, with the next instalment due out next year.  I started reading the series last year and I feel for those really devoted fans who picked it up at the beginning.

Whilst his level of detail is admirable, it also slows everything down.  The cast of characters is already phenomenally large and growing – new faces are being introduced faster than he can kill them off.  It does make it a bit hard to follow at times, and can be frustrating when you are really getting into a character’s story and then it is suddenly cut off until the next book.  So I wish this series would come to an end – I am desperate to know what is going to happen and I want it all to happen quicker.

But, this is also a book series that I want to go on longer.  The events depicted in the series are ultimately the consequence of a previous war in which the ruling family were overthrown.  This previous war is not part of the series, but it is referred to a lot and so we are given the basic story.  Every time it is mentioned in the books, I always think that it would make an absolutely brilliant prequel.  The Song of Ice and Fire series is more than enough to be going on with for now.  But I know when we do eventually reach the end, I will be wishing for that prequel.

Posted on August 29, 2013, in Reading and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

